Possunkylkiä täällä ei kyllä ole natusteltu, vaan neulottu Nancy B:n ribbisukkia. Testailin neljästä mallista kolme ja epäilemättä teen kyllä ne neljännetkin jossain vaiheessa. Tein ekat ja vaivuin lähes epätoivoon; mulla on norsun jalat eikä nää Bush-sukat ikänä mahdu mulle! Soukempisäärinen mieheni sai siis kivat sukat. Kunnes tajusin, että käyttämäni Trekking XXL on paljon ohuempaa kuin ohjeessa käytetty Wooly West Footpath, joka on tiheydeltään ja paksuudeltaan paljon lähempänä kotoista Nallea kuin Trekkingiä, Regiaa tai Opalia. No niin, jatkoin siis varastoista löytyvällä Nalle Colorilla, ja koon sain jo lähemmäksi. Tulos oli vaan ehkä enintään melkein kaunis, joten mies sai tällä kertaa saapassukat. Kolmas kerta sanoi toden, ja hyvä niin: käytin niin kirjavaa Regian kuusisäikeistä (Saksan tuliaisia) ettei noita olisi enää kehdannut antaa miehelle. Mutta on se hyvä, että puolisolla on jalka kokoa 39, niin voi antaa kaikki hasardineulomukset sille, kun se kuluttaa villasukkia kuin näkkileipää.

No I haven't been eating truckloads of pork ribs but knitting, Nancy B's rib socks. I tested three models out of four and I don't doubt I'll knit the fourth pair as the time comes. As I had finished the first pair I was quite desperate; I have feet of an elephant and I will never be able to finish a fitting pair of Bush socks in my life. So my husband who has considerably slimmer feet than me got a pair of really nice socks. Fortunately, I realised that the Trekking XXL I had used is really way thinner than Wooly West Footpath used in the pattern. So I continued with Finnish Nalle Colori which was already much better in gauge but not in looks, I'm afraid. So my hubbie got himself a pair of boot socks. On the third time I finally hit it and finished a both fitting and pretty pair for me. Good so. I simply couldn't have given these socks to my husband anymore; they're so girly! (This sounds so bad, poor man gets only those things that are not good enough for her. No really, he's such an intensive sock wearer that I need to darn old socks / knit him new pairs constantly. He wears them mostly in boots where they are totally out of sight.)

426559.jpg

Yarrow Ribbed Socks, size 38-39

Pattern source: Knitting Vintage Socks by Nancy Bush

Yarn: Trekking XXL, colour 69 (I think)

Needles: 2.25 mm bamboo dpn's

426560.jpg

Lichen Ribbed Socks, size 38-39

Pattern source: Knitting Vintage Socks by Nancy Bush

Yarn: Nalle Colori

Needles: 3 mm bamboo dpn's

Hear hear! Project Spectrum...

426562.jpg

Madder Ribbed Socks, size 37

Pattern source: Knitting Vintage Socks by Nancy Bush

Yarn: Regia 6-fädig Square Color, colour 1132

Needles: 3 mm bamboo dpn's

 

Seuraavaksi toivon saavani valmiiksi Vintiölle neulomani Guernsey'n. Enää yksi hiha ja toisen resori tekemättä, eli tässä ei välttämättä mene enää pitkään.

Next I wish to finish Rascal's Guernsey. I have only one sleeve and other's ribbing to make. It shouldn't take too long.