Olen ollut aikaansaapa viime aikoina: kahdet sormikkaat ja pipo!

I've been productive lately: two pairs of gloves and a hat!

233157.jpg

Adult Gloves

Yarn: Ullcentrum, Öland, 100 % wool, bought from Priima.

Needles: 3 mm bamboo dpn's

Pattern: No special pattern, except twisted rib on the cuff

Child's Gloves

Yarn: Pirkkalanka Ohut 

Needles: 2 mm Pony dpn's

Pattern: no such thing, size fits a two-year old

 

233160.jpg

Red Tweed Hat "Korvapuusti" (Cinnamon Bun)

Yarn: Rowanspun Aran, colour 973 Gables, from Cucumberpatch

Needles: 6 mm

Pattern: from "Knitting Year-Round", published by Better Homes and Gardens. I altered the cables quite a bit and added two pattern repeats as I had different yarn. I also omitted two rows of the repeat and worked the seam so that the top of the hat didn't come out pointy as in the original pattern.

Tykkään kaikista kovasti, vaikka aikuisen sormikkaissa villan värinvaihdokset olivat varsin pitkät: tuloksena kaksi yksiväristä, mutta keskenään eriväristä hanskaa! Vintiön turkooseissa sormikkaissa kakkosen puikot olivat ehkä hieman liian pienet napakalle käsialalleni. Toisaalta on kyllä hyvä, että syksyn viimoissa käsineet ovat tiiviit. Ja Rowanspun oli hauska lanka: epätasainen, herkkuvärinen ja erittäin huopuneen oloinen. Aran vahvuutena sopi mielestäni mainiosti talviasusteisiin, ajattelinkin seuraavaksi tehdä Alison's Scarfin vihreästä Rowanspun Aranista.

I like them all a lot. The yarn in adult's gloves had longer colour repeats than I had expected so I got two mismatched single-coloured gloves. Actually it doesn't bother me at all. The gauge in Rascal's turqoise gloves is pretty dense, but I thought that it's better than too loose as the autumn grows colder and the kids stay out several hours. And Rowanspun; changing thickness, gorgeous colour and the felted feel of the yarn made me really like it. The Aran version of the yarn suits really well in winter accessories, I think, and I planned to make an Alisons Scarf in green Rowanspun Aran in the near future. 

Ja oon mä vähän shopannutkin: Amazon marketplacen Aphrohead Books tarjosi edukkaasti sukkafriikin kirjastosta puuttuneet teokset. Nyt on suunnitelmia aika pitkäksi aikaa...

Some shopping too... Aphrohead Books from the Amazon marketplace offered two books I have been dreaming about for a long time for a reasonable price. Now I have lots of sock plans for as long as I want.

233161.jpg

And the last pic for you to enjoy: someone just made it to the photo, as it took me ages to make the arrangements. :)

233159.jpg